RSS
 

Posts Tagged ‘texas’

Charged with Marijuana Possession or Sales in Houston? Hire The Best Houston Lawyer

12 Jun

Best Houston Criminal Defense Attorney

Criminal Lawyer Charles Johnson is one of the foremost criminal defense attorney in Houston in defending people from drug convictions, including the possession and sale of marijuana. His unique strategy gives his clients the best opportunity to avoid criminal penalties, and his criminal defense law firm’s familiarity with drug laws, both felonies and misdemeanors, is unrivaled. He provides each client a high-quality legal defense that is superior. Houston Lawyer Charles Johnson can defend against any criminal drug charge in both federal and state courts, and his firm’s track record of success continues to grow.

Hire the Best Houston Drug Crimes Defense Lawyer: The Charles Johnson Law Firm

Criminal Marijuana Penalties

Marijuana possession and sale charges can be either misdemeanors or felonies, but both carry serious penalties. Jail time, heavy fines, probation, mandatory rehab programs and more are all possible penalties for drug charges. Attorney Johnson’s finely tuned defense techniques have evolved from years of experience, and he brings that knowledge and experience to those facing marijuana-related criminal charges.

Marijuana Possession

Of all the marijuana laws in Texas, possession of marijuana may be the most unfair. It punishes otherwise responsible citizens merely for keeping some pot for personal use and who have no intention of ever doing anything hurtful with it or profiting from it. Nonetheless, it is an offense to possess, distribute or cultivate marijuana in Texas. Depending on the quantity, possession of marijuana can be charged as a misdemeanor of felony in both state and federal court.

The prosecution may argue that you’re “in possession” of marijuana in Houston, TX, if you’re found smoking marijuana or if you knowingly “exercised control” over the marijuana. Therefore, the location of the marijuana is very important:

  • If the marijuana is found on your person, in your car, in or around your home, in a storage unit belonging to you, or in any other place that you have some authority over, the prosecution will argue that you were in possession of the marijuana since you had some control over the location.
  • Furthermore, if marijuana is found in your system during a drug test or you were caught driving under the influence of marijuana in Texas, the prosecution may try to use that to prove you’ve been in possession of marijuana since you presumably “exercise control” over your body.

Marijuana Possession Penalties in Texas

  • Two ounces or less include a fine up to $2,000, up to 180 days in jail or both
  • More than two ounces, but less than four ounces. Penalties include a fine of up to $4,000, up to one year in jail, or both.
  • Four ounces or more, up to and including five pounds. Penalties include a fine of up to $10,000, between 180 days and two years in prison, or both.
  • More than five pounds, up to and including 50 pounds. Penalties include a fine of up to $10,000, between two and ten years in prison, or both.
  • More than 50 pounds, up to and including 2,000 pounds. Penalties include a fine of up to $10,000, between two and 20 years in prison, or both.
  • More than 2,000 pounds. Penalties include a fine of up to $50,000, between five and 99 years in prison, or both.

Sale of Marijuana

Various states have different marijuana laws, and Texas is no different. Texas treats marijuana sales as a much more serious crime than possession, which is reflected in the penalties. The sale of any amount of marijuana can lead to prison time, even for small amounts.

Sale of Marijuana Penalties in Texas

  • 1/4 oz – 5 lbs: 6 months – 2 years, $10,000 fine
  • 5 lbs – 50 lbs: 2 – 20 years, $10,000 fine
  • 50 lbs – 1 ton: 5 – 99 years, $10,000 fine
  • 1 ton or more: Mandatory minimum of 10 – 99 years, with a $100,000 fine

These are for either the sale OR delivery, meaning it is irrelevant whether or not you are actually paid or just just giving it to someone. On top of that, if the delivery or sale is to a minor (in ANY amount), that is punishable by an additional 2 – 20 years in prison. Also, sale within 1,000 feet of a school or within 300 feet of a youth center, public pool or video arcade increases the penalty classification to the next highest level (which in some cases is a difference of many years).

The Houston Lawyer Charles Johnson understands the unique nature of Texas marijuana laws, and can provide a skilled defense. His unparalleled knowledge of state and federal drug laws gives him a unique ability to provide excellent legal services for you and your loved ones. If you are in need of criminal defense legal representation in the Houston area, contact Attorney Johnson anytime day or night at (713) 222-7577 to discuss your situation.

What Is Marijuana?

Cannabis sativa: There are two species of Cannabis. One species is Cannabis sativa, originally cultivated to make hemp. The stalks of the plant contain fibers that are woven to make rope, cloth, and paper. The other species is Cannabis indica, known for its psychoactive properties. Hashish is derived from Cannabis indica. In Africa, cannabis is know as “dagga,” in China as “ma,” and in India as “ganga” or “bhang”. Marijuana is the Mexican colloquial name for Cannabis sativa. Marijuana is a greenish-gray mixture of dried, shredded leaves, stems, seeds, and flowers of the hemp plant.

THC is the main psychoactive ingredient in marijuana. THC or delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol is found in the plant’s resin. The amount of THC determines the potency of the marijuana. The resin is mostly concentrated in the flowers of the plant. Because of various cultivation techniques the amount of THC varies considerably in the flowers of individual plants.

Other Chemicals: Marijuana is a complex drug and is made up of 420 chemical components. Sixty-one of these chemicals are called cannabinoids and are unique to marijuana. Many scientific studies focus on the primary psychoactive chemical, THC but don’t know how these other cannabinoids affect the various organs, brain, and behavior.

Grades of Marijuana

  • Low-grade marijuana is made from leaves of both sexes of the plant.
  • Medium-grade marijuana is made of the flowering tops of female plants fertilized by male plants.
  • High-grade marijuana is made of the flowering tops of female plants raised in isolation to male plants. This marijuana is called sinsemilla because it does not produce a seed.
  • Hashish is produced when resin is collected from the Cannabis indica plant. The THC-rich resin is dried and then compressed into a variety of forms, such as balls, cakes, or cookie-like sheets. Pieces are then broken off, placed in pipes, and smoked or rolled into a cigarette along with tobacco or low-grade marijuana. The Middle East, North Africa, Pakistan, and Afghanistan are the main sources of hashish. THC content of hashish can vary from 8% to 20%.

What are the Physical Effects of Marijuana usage?

When marijuana is smoked, the affects are felt in minutes. The high usually peaks within a couple of hours. Marijuana affects users differently. The “high” can include a feeling of relaxation, improved sense perception, and emotional well-being. Music and visual images may seem more vibrant and intense. Time seems to slow down. Some people experience physical hunger and a range of emotion from laughter to introspection. Marijuana does not always produce pleasant feelings and may cause paranoia and hallucinations. Emergency room visits have increased because some people feel anxious or fearful after smoking high-grade marijuana. Whether the marijuana is smoked or eaten, THC can remain in the body for days. About half the THC is in the blood 20 hours after smoking. Although the initial high has disappeared, physical and mental functions may be affected for days.

The physical effects of marijuana depend on many individual factors such as personal health, the time of day that marijuana is used, the problems it causes, and how well a person is able to control his or her use. Research studies have shown that one of the primary concerns for those who use marijuana is cardiovascular damage. Marijuana causes damage to lungs that is similar to that caused by cigarettes. For people who inhale deeply or hold the smoke in their lungs longer, the risk can be greater. One study that compared cigarette and marijuana smokers found that marijuana smokers absorbed five times the amount of carbon monoxide, and had five times the tar in their lungs, as compared to cigarette smokers. For those who smoke both marijuana and cigarettes, the damage can be exponentially greater than that caused by marijuana or cigarettes alone.

Research shows that people who use marijuana more than one time during the day tend to have more social and physical problems than those who only use in the evenings. Those who use at multiple times may also be more likely to be smoking to avoid problems they feel unable to confront. A person who uses marijuana in addition to alcohol or other drugs can be at additional risk. The effects of some drugs become exponentially greater when taken together. In addition, the physical tolerance that one drug produces can sometimes affect another drug, and lead to dependence on multiple substances.

Is Marijuana Addictive?

While marijuana is not in the same addictive league as cocaine, heroin, and even alcohol, recent studies raise the possibility that THC affects the level of dopamine in the brain. Dopamine is a chemical in the brain that affects the pleasure circuits. Many addictive drugs cause the release of dopamine from the neurons. One report by the National Institute of Drug Abuse states that long-term marijuana use can lead to addiction for some people. This report concludes that along with craving, withdrawal symptoms can make it hard for long-term marijuana smokers to stop using the drug. People trying to quit report irritability, difficulty sleeping, and anxiety.

Drug Paraphernalia

Texas does not prosecute possession of drugs only. In fact, Texas will prosecute a person for possession of drug paraphernalia. Thus, it is a separate criminal charge classified as a Class C Misdemeanor and typically carries a penalty of $500. Normally, if one is charged with a possession of controlled substance, then a possession of drug paraphernalia will be charged against the person, as well.

Under federal law the term drug paraphernalia means “any equipment, product or material of any kind which is primarily intended or designed for use in manufacturing, compounding, converting, concealing, producing, processing, preparing, injecting, ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise introducing into the human body a controlled substance.”

Drug paraphernalia is any legitimate equipment, product, or material that is modified for making, using, or concealing illegal drugs such as cocaine, heroin, marijuana, and methamphetamine. Drug paraphernalia generally falls into two categories:

User-specific products

User-specific products are marketed to drug users to assist them in taking or concealing illegal drugs. These products include certain pipes, smoking masks, bongs, cocaine freebase kits, marijuana grow kits, roach clips, and items such as hollowed out cosmetic cases or fake pagers used to conceal illegal drugs.

Dealer-specific products

Dealer-specific products are used by drug traffickers for preparing illegal drugs for distribution at the street level. Items such as scales, vials, and baggies fall into this category. Drug paraphernalia does not include any items traditionally used with tobacco, like pipes and rolling papers.

With the rise of the drug culture in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s, the country began to see the appearance of “head shops,” which were stores that sold a wide range of drug paraphernalia. While some of the paraphernalia was crude and home-made, much was being commercially manufactured to cater to a fast-growing market. Enterprising individuals even sold items openly in the street, until anti-paraphernalia laws in the 1980s eventually ended such blatant sales. Today, law enforcement faces another challenge. With the advent of the Internet, criminals have greatly expanded their illicit sales to a worldwide market for drug paraphernalia. For example, in a recent law enforcement effort, Operation Pipedreams, the 18 companies targeted accounted for more than a quarter of a billion dollars in retail drug paraphernalia sales annually. Typically, such illicit businesses operate retail stores as well as websites posing as retailers of legitimate tobacco accessories when in reality the products are intended for the illegal drug trade.

Identifying drug paraphernalia can be challenging because products often are marketed as though they were designed for legitimate purposes. Marijuana pipes and bongs, for example, frequently carry a misleading disclaimer indicating that they are intended to be used only with tobacco products. Recognizing drug paraphernalia often involves considering other factors such as the manner in which items are displayed for sale, descriptive materials or instructions accompanying the items, and the type of business selling the items.

Marijuana-Related Crimes

The Charles Johnson Law Firm is experienced in marijuana-related matters involving:

  • Possession
  • Cultivation
  • Distribution
  • Paraphernalia
  • Search and seizure laws
  • Asset seizure
  • Search warrants, wiretapping and surveillance

Contact the Best Houston Marijuana Possession Lawyer: The Charles Johnson Law Firm

Before someone can be convicted of marijuana possession in Houston, the state must prove that the accused actually had possession or took action to control the drug. Drug possession cases are complicated and depend the police’s adherence to strict guidelines concerning search and seizure of the drug.

As you could be facing fines, probation, drug classes, community service, and jail, it is crucial that you speak with an experienced Houston criminal attorney if you have been accused of this crime. Our team at the Charles Johnson Law Firm is well-equipped to handle any type of drug crime, including those involving possession of marijuana and/or drug paraphernalia. We understand that mistakes can happen and not everyone who has been accused of a crime is guilty. No matter how serious you may believe your case to be, contact the Best Houston Lawyer Charles Johnson directly by calling (713) 222-7577 anytime, day or night to discuss your case.

 
Comments Off

Posted in Drug Offenses

 

Houston DWI Lawyer » Arrested for DWI in Houston? Answers to Frequently Asked Questions

07 May

Finest Houston DWI Attorney

Houston DWI Lawyer Charles Johnson is dedicated to protecting the rights of those accused of the following intoxication related criminal offenses:

 
  • Public Intoxication
  • Consumption or Possession of Alcoholic Beverage in Motor Vehicle
  • Driving While Intoxicated
  • Flying While Intoxicated
  • Boating While Intoxicated
  • Intoxication Assault
  • Intoxication Manslaughter
  •  
    Some people simply cannot have a Texas DWI conviction on their record. The Houston salesperson. Sugar Land Surgeon. University of Houston full-time student. Pearland small business owner. Or the Conroe professional driver. There are other members of our community that also must have a valid driver’s license… and a clean criminal record. Houston Criminal Lawyer Charles Johnson expertly defends DWI and other serious related offenses. The Best Houston DWI Lawyer represents clients across the state, from those charged with drunk driving in North Texas cities such as Lubbock and Amarillo, to those arrested in the West Texas cities of El Paso and Midland… all the way down to Corpus Christi and Harlingen. Our clients come to us because we provide the absolute most vigorous defense available to those facing DWI charges in Texas. And in the majority of cases, we are able to protect their freedom, ability to drive, and criminal record.

    Too many people think they don’t have a defense, especially if they are facing a drunk-driving charge. That may not be true! Pleading guilty or no contest to a criminal charge or a DWI will seriously impact your life. If you have already plead guilty or no contest, call us to see if we can help. When the odds seem to be against you, put experience on your side. Call Houston Lawyer Charles Johnson at any hour, seven days a week at (713) 222-7577.

    The following are the answers to some questions you may have:

    What is the definition of intoxication in Texas?

    “Intoxication” under Texas law means:

    (A) not having the normal use of [one’s] mental faculties by reason of the introduction of alcohol, a controlled substance, a drug, a dangerous drug, a combination of two or more of those substances, or any other substance into the body; or (B) not having the normal use of [one’s] physical faculties by reason of the introduction of alcohol, a controlled substance, a drug, a dangerous drug, a combination of two or more of those substances, or any other substance into the body; or

    (C) [a person] having an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more. It should be noted, that theoretically the prosecutor only needs to prove one of the three ways in order to obtain a conviction. For example, if the jury believes the person has lost their physical faculties, although they have not lost their mental faculties and there is no blood or breath test, theoretically that person could be found guilty. That is not always the case, generally, if the evidence only shows the loss of either the mental or physical faculties, and not both, there is usually a logical explanation for that loss and the result should be they are not intoxicated.

    What is a .08 alcohol concentration?

    Under Texas law “Alcohol concentration” means the number of grams of alcohol per:

    (A) 210 liters of breath;

    (B) 100 milliliters of blood; or

    (C) 67 milliliters of urine. Unless you are a engineer, chemist, toxicologist or an expert on alcohol and have a calculator, you will not be able to determine whether or not you have an alcohol concentration of .08 or more. The amount of alcohol in each of the above definitions is not equal. Consequently, depending on the test, one test could confirm your innocence while another insinuate your guilt with a .08 or more. A general rule of thumb is that you may have “one beer (12 oz.),” “one glass of wine (4 oz.),” or “one shot of whiskey (1.5 oz.)” per hour. These facts alone should prove the importance of hiring an experienced DWI lawyer who understands the differences.

    How can I calculate my alcohol concentration?

    THE FOLLOWING BAC CALCULATOR IS PROVIDED FOR INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY. IT IS NOT TO BE RELIED ON FOR THE PURPOSES OF CONSUMING ALCOHOL AND THEN DRIVING. Estimate your Blood/Breath Alcohol Level

    A general rule of thumb is that you may have “one beer (12 oz.),” “one glass of wine (4 oz.),” or “one shot of whiskey (1.5 oz)” per hour. Also refer to the answer in question number two.

    What is the difference between DWI and DUI in Texas?

    Under Texas law intoxication includes the introduction of alcohol, or a controlled substance, a drug, a dangerous drug, or any combination of two or more of those substances, or any other substance into the body. In other words, Driving While Intoxicated includes all substances including alcohol. While “Driving Under the Influence” or DUI in Texas is an offense that involves minors. To be arrested in Texas for DUI, the person arrested must be a minor (anyone under the age of twenty-one) who operates a motor vehicle in a public place while having any detectable amount of alcohol in the minor’s system. The key words are, “any detectable amount of alcohol.” Generally, an offense under this section is a Class C Misdemeanor. That is the difference between DUI and DWI in Texas. However, there are other states that use these terms differently than we do.

    What do police officers look for when searching for drunk drivers on the highways of Texas?

    Police officers are trained to look for the following factors when searching for drunk drivers on the highways in Texas. This list is based on research conducted by the National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration? (NHTSA)

    • Turning with wide radius
    • Straddling center of lane marker
    • Appearing to be “drunk”
    • Almost striking object or vehicle
    • Weaving
    • Driving on other than designated roadway
    • Swerving
    • Speed more than “10” miles below speed limit
    • Stopping without cause in Traffic lane
    • Following too closely
    • Drifting
    • Tires on Center or Lane marker
    • Braking Erratically
    • Driving into Opposing or Crossing Traffic
    • Signaling Inconsistent with driving actions
    • Slow response to traffic signals
    • Stopping inappropriately (other than in a lane)
    • Turning abruptly or illegally
    • Accelerating or Decelerating Rapidly
    • Headlights off

    Although police officers tend to believe speeding is a factor, speeding is not a recognized sign of Intoxication. The faster you drive, the quicker your reactions and reflexes must be as well as your judgment. Therefore, if you are speeding and appear to be driving normally, that would be indicators of sobriety rather than intoxication.

    If I’m stopped by the police, should I answer any questions regarding drinking?

    You are not required to answer questions that are designed to be incriminating. In a police encounter, a simple request to speak to your attorney before answering questions, would be an appropriate response. However, informing the officer that you had one or two alcoholic beverages should not be harmful since it usually would not cause a person to be impaired. This response may explain away the odor of alcohol on your breath. Always remain calm, and be courteous and respectful at all times. Always remember that after stopping you and approaching your vehicle, the officer is probably already recording your discussion and actions on video without your knowledge.

    Houston DWI Attorney

    What signs of intoxication do police officers look for after stopping someone on the roadside?

    Police officers are taught to look for the following symptoms of impairment. This list is based on research conducted by the National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration (NHTSA).

    • Flushed face
    • Red, watery, glassy or bloodshot eyes
    • Odor of alcohol on breath
    • Slurred Speech
    • Fumbling with wallet while trying to get license
    • Failure to comprehend officer’s questions
    • Unsteady of feet while exiting vehicle
    • Swaying while standing
    • Leaning on car for support
    • Being combative, argumentative or jovial while talking with officer
    • Disheveled clothing
    • Lack of awareness in regards to time and place
    • Unable to follow police instructions

     

    What can affect my performance on field sobriety tests?

    The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has admitted that even SOBER people can have difficulty with these tests! One’s ability to perform the Field Sobriety Tests can be affected by many factors other than alcohol, including;

    •    Nervousness
    •    Fear
    •    Fatigue
    •    Illness / Allergies
    •    Traffic
    •    Wind
    •    Dust in your eyes
    •    Head lights
    •    The police officers strobe lights
    •    Weather conditions
    •    Back problems
    •    Leg and/or Knee injuries
    •    Inner ear disorders
    •    Ankle and/or Foot problems
    •    Road or sidewalk conditions
    •    Weight
    •    Age
    •    Footwear
    •    Lack of coordination

    Do I have a right to an attorney when I am stopped for a DWI investigation?

    The law in Texas provides that persons stopped for DWI initially do not have the right to an attorney. In fact, you do not have a right to speak to a lawyer until after the initial investigation on the street is complete and you have been taken to jail. Most citizens do not understand that after their arrest, they are not entitled to speak to a lawyer when confronted with the decision of taking or refusing a blood, breath or urine test. Keep in mind, that it is still a good idea to request a lawyer when you are first stopped by the police and you want to continue requesting to talk with your attorney before continuing further with any of the police officers other requests.

    What should I do if the police ask me to take “Field Sobriety Tests”?

    Understand the police want you to help them make their case against you stronger. By performing field sobriety tests, you are simply helping the police manufacture evidence against you. Be aware that they fully intend on using this evidence against you in court . Therefore, taking an Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN) test (the pen test), the Walk and Turn (walk the straight line), the One Leg Stand test, or any other evaluation test on the street is usually not a good idea. Most experts agree that police officers are not trained well enough to accurately interpret the symptoms observed while administering these street evaluations. This doesn’t mean that you need to be rude or nasty to an officer if he asks you to do some Field Sobriety Tests. Again, it is much better that you be courteous, respectful and “respectfully decline” all tests.

    Should I take a blood, breath or urine test?

    Most of us who are experienced DWI Attorneys agree that the above tests are not completely accurate and therefore should not be taken. According to most experts of the three tests, the blood test is the most accurate, but it is too time consuming for police officers to use. The Breath test is the easiest for the officer, because the machine is available and already housed at the police station. The urine sample is the least accurate by all accounts. However, if you agree to take one of these chemical tests for the police, remember that you are then entitled to request your own independent test, so you need to request a blood test also. Most police officers will not provide you with that information. Therefore, calling an experienced DWI lawyer immediately after your arrest is important!

    What happens if I refuse or fail to take one of these chemical tests?

    Basically, If a person refuses or fails a blood or breath test following an arrest for driving while intoxicated, the person may receive a license suspension of 90 days up to 2 years, depending on the number of alcohol related contacts the person has had in the past. More importantly, whether you take a test, or you refuse one that the police offer, you only have 15 days after your arrest to request a hearing to fight to keep your license from being suspended. This is one of the reasons it is important to request a hearing before the State Office of Administrative Hearings to stop the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) from attempting to administratively (civilly) suspend your license. Again, calling an experienced DWI lawyer immediately after your arrest is important!

    Can my drivers license also be suspended if I am convicted of Driving While Intoxicated?

    Yes, if a person receives a final conviction that person’s license may be suspended. The license suspension period ranges from 90 days up to 2 years. A conviction for driving while intoxicated under the age of 21 will result in an automatic suspension for one year, unless the person is on probation and required to have an Ignition Interlock Device.. Note: Generally speaking, in Harris County, if you are a first offender, and you represent yourself and plead guilty to Driving While Intoxicated you will more than likely receive a final conviction and lose your license for one year. Remember, the Assistant District Attorney and the Judge do not represent you, one is there to prosecute you; the other is there to preside over the case. The Judge cannot and will not give you legal advice. Again, having an experienced DWI lawyer represent you is very important to your case!

    How long will a DWI arrest stay on my record?

    If you are convicted for the DWI, even if you receive probation, it will remain on your record “FOREVER.” If you are found “Not Guilty” at your trial, you can have the arrest and the DWI charge “expunged” from your record.

    Is it legal to drink alcohol while driving an automobile? What about having an open container in the vehicle?

    No, it is a Class C Misdemeanor for a driver to have an open container of alcohol in his or her personal possession while operating a motor vehicle. It is also illegal for any passenger to have an open container of alcohol in their possession. However, if you are the passenger in a taxicab, limousine, bus, or in the living quarters of a mobile home, you can legally consume alcohol while being driven around. If you go to a party and take a bottle of wine, beer or liquor, and leave the party with them you can be ticketed for possessing an open container of alcohol. In order to legitimately carry a bottle of wine, beer or liquor, the seal must not be broken. If the seal is broken, the only other legitimate way to carry the bottle is put in the trunk of your car, or if you are in a truck or SUV, then it must go behind the last row of seats. However, my advice is to leave the alcohol at the party when you leave.

    Will I have to have an Ignition Interlock Device put in my car as a condition of bond?

    For a first offense, conditions of bond are a matter of discretion with the Court. Generally, most judges will not make a an Ignition Interlock Device as a condition of bond for a first offense DWI. However, if you are charged with a subsequent DWI (no matter how long ago your first DWI was), with Intoxication Assault, or with Intoxication Manslaughter you are required by law to install an Ignition Interlock Device on you automobile. In fact, you will not be able to drive any vehicle that is not equipped with an Interlock Device. If the device determines a certain level of alcohol on your breath, it will temporarily disable your vehicle. When driving, you have to continuously blow into the device about every twenty (20) minutes. Please note, that the alcohol in some mouthwashes can even be enough to cause the Ignition Interlock Device to disable the vehicle if you do not wait a certain period of time after its use.

    What is an occupational or restricted license?

    An occupational or restricted license is a special restricted license authorized by a Court, and issued to persons whose license has been suspended or revoked for certain offenses. This restricted or occupational license authorizes the operation of a non-commercial motor vehicle in connection with a person’s occupation, for educational purposes or in the performance of essential household duties.

    Is the Order from the court the actual occupational or restricted license?

    No, this is the order granting the occupational license. The court order and all other required items need to be submitted to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) so an occupational or restricted license can be issued. The court order may be used as a temporary restricted license for 30 days from the date of the judge’s signature while DPS processes the occupational license, and is to be kept in the glove box of the motor vehicle you operate.

    What are the requirements for obtaining the restricted license in a DWI or ALR suspension case?

    You must mail into the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), a certified copy of the court order granting the occupational license. Also enclose the following:

    1. An original pink SR-22 certificate of insurance. This is the only proof of insurance acceptable.
    2. A $10 license fee for a one-year license or less. The maximum length of issuance is a 2-year license for $20, provided that the court order grants this length of time.
    3. A $125 statutory reinstatement fee for the Administrative License Revocation (ALR), if required; and
    4. A completed SR-37 form to type the occupational license.

    Caveat: The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) requires all reinstatement fee(s) be paid prior to the issuance of the occupational or restricted license.

    What is an SR-22 and how can I obtain an SR-22?

    An SR-22 insurance policy is a certificate of insurance that shows the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) proof of insurance for the future, as required by law. SR-22 insurance is not necessarily “high risk” insurance. It is motor vehicle liability insurance which requires the insurance company to certify coverage to DPS, and the insurance company must notify DPS anytime the policy is cancelled, terminated or lapses. You may contact an insurance agent/company of your choice who is authorized to write liability insurance for the State of Texas.

    If I do not own a car, can an SR-22 be obtained?

    You do not need to own a car to buy this kind of insurance. If you do not own a car, please contact an insurance agent/company of your choice and talk to them about a non-owner SR-22.

    Can an insurance card or insurance policy be accepted toward the requirement of filing the SR-22?

    No, when proof of financial responsibility is required, form SR-22 must be filed to meet the compliance requirements with the DPS.

    What happens if my SR-22 is cancelled?

    Once the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) receives notification from the insurance company that the policy is cancelled, terminated, or lapses appropriate enforcement action may be taken. If the SR-22 is still required and there is not a valid SR-22 on file, you again face the possibility that your driving privilege and vehicle registration will be suspended. Additionally, the Court may withdraw its original court order granting you the restricted license.

    Can you drive a commercial motor vehicle with an occupational or restricted license?

    No, if a person’s driver license or the privilege to drive is suspended, revoked, cancelled, or denied under any law in this state, the person may not be granted an occupational, restricted or “essential need” license to operate a commercial motor vehicle.

    Someone said I could get ” Deferred Adjudication” if I am charged with a DWI is that correct?

    No. DWI is one of a few of crimes in Texas where Deferred Adjudication is not available under the law as a punishment option.

    Could I receive a probation if I am convicted of DWI?

    Yes, depending on your prior criminal history, the facts surrounding your case, etc. and whether you meet the minimum requirements under Texas law — for “community service” or “probation:” Those minimum requirements are: 1) That you have never been convicted of a felony offense in this State, another state or the United States; and you have never been given adult “community service” or “probation” for a felony offense in this State, another state or the United States.

    What is the difference between deferred adjudication and Probation?

    First, Texas classifies both of these punishments as “community service,” — one is called “Deferred Adjudication Community Service” and the other is called just “Community Service” or what we used to call “probation.” Second, Deferred Adjudication is a punishment that an individual can only receive from the Judge and never a jury, whereas probation can be received from either a Judge or a Jury. Third, in a Deferred Adjudication situation, the Judge defers a finding of guilty against an individual and places that person on community service without entering judgment of guilty. On the other hand, under the punishment known as “probation”, the person is found or judged “guilty” and sentenced, but the sentence is then probated. With probation the individual is actually convicted, but the sentence is probated, whereas with the “Deferred Adjudication” the person is not convicted, but is placed on community service. However, as stated in Question 24, Deferred Adjudication is not a punishment option in a DWI case in Texas. If some attorney mentions to you that it might be available or tells you that it is, then you are not talking with a DWI Attorney.

    Someone mentioned to me that Texas has increased its fines for DWI or that it passed a “Surcharge” for individuals convicted of DWI? Is this some sort of a fine and how does it work?

    Contrary to media reports, the 78TH Texas Legislature did not increase fines. However, the Legislature did pass a “Surcharge” or an administrative fee under a law known as the “Driver Responsibility Act,” that took effect on September 1, 2003. The fees under this law are strictly administrative in nature, and are above and beyond, any fines, court costs, probation fees or filing fees that the State already receives in a DWI case. The law basically requires any person convicted after September 1, 2003 of a first offense DWI to pay the State of Texas a “surcharge” in the amount of $1,000.00 per year for three years to keep their drivers license; or any person convicted of a second offense DWI to pay the State of Texas a “surcharge” of $1,500.00 per year for three years to keep their drivers license; or any person convicted of an offense of DWI, that has a test result of .16 or higher with a breath or blood test, to pay $2,000.00 per year for three years to keep their drivers license. These fees are paid to the Department of Public Safety and if not paid within the designated time allowed, the person will automatically lose their driver’s license or the privilege to obtain a driver’s license until the money is paid.

    Can a person be charged with a felony DWI if there is child in the vehicle when they are arrested by the police?

    Yes. Effective September 1, 2003, the 78TH Texas Legislature passed a law that makes a DWI punishable as a felony, if there is a child younger than fourteen (14) years old in the vehicle when a person is stopped and arrested.

    Hire the Best Houston DWI Lawyer: The Charles Johnson Law Firm

    Regardless of what you have heard, drunk driving and related offenses are not impossible to win if you have a good case and the right DWI attorney to help you. Your DWI attorney must be experienced with all facets of the Texas DWI arrest process and must understand and be ready to cross-examine the state’s expert about the science of field sobriety testing, laws of arrest and probable cause, and blood, breath, and urine testing.

    Houston DWI Lawyer Charles Johnson understands that people are arrested for intoxication related offenses at all hours and simply cannot wait for solid legal advice. When you need effective, strategic defense, contact us 24 hours a day, seven days a week at (713) 222-7577. We are ready and waiting for your call.

     
    Comments Off

    Posted in DWI, Free Criminal Defense Info